Turkey bans flights from six countries over COVID-19 variants

Turkey on Monday banned flights from six countries, including Brazil and South Africa, until further notice as part of measures to stem the spread of the new variants of COVID-19.

All flights from Bangladesh, India, Nepal and Sri Lanka have also been banned as of July 1, the Interior Ministry said in a notice issued to all 81 Turkish provinces.

Those arriving in the country from other locations, but who have been in the countries listed within the last 14 days will be required to show a negative PCR test within a maximum of 72 hours before entry and require 14 days of quarantining, the ministry said.

Arrivals from Pakistan and Afghanistan or travellers who have been in the countries in the last 14 days will need a 10-day quarantine in Turkey upon arrival.

Arrivals from the United Kingdom, Iran, Egypt and Singapore will need to show a negative PCR test within 72 hours prior to arrival, according to the ministry.

The new regulations coincide with increased normalisation in the country after it registered less than 5,000 cases on Sunday, down from 60,000 in April.

This block is broken or missing. You may be missing content or you might need to enable the original module.